Bursary Awards

In 1971, CFUW Edmonton established a needs-based bursary program for female students attending the University of Alberta.

The CFUW Edmonton Bursary Committee annually awards bursaries, including the Elsie Mitchell Newland, Frances McConnell and Margaret Brine named bursaries, to University of Alberta women. 

In November 2017, CFUW Edmonton members read applications, interviewed female students from the University of Alberta and awarded a total of $24,000 to 19 applicants.

Awards ranged in value from $100 to $2500. The Margaret Brine went to a Master of Arts in Gender Studies & Social Justice student.  The Elsie Mitchell Newland went to a PhD Nursing student.  The Frances McConnell was awarded to a Bachelor of Education student.

The 2017 Bursary program has closed. 

Applications for the 2018 Bursary program will be available in September 2018.